Skip navigation

Sub-navMedicare ABCs

print page

Medicare ABCs

Medicare has four parts: Parts A and B (also known as Original Medicare), Part C (also known as Medicare Advantage) and Part D, which provides prescription coverage.

Part A (hospital coverage)

Helps pay for your inpatient hospital care, skilled nursing, hospice, home health care and certain other services.

Part B (medical coverage)

Helps pay for your doctors’ fees, outpatient hospital visits and other medical services and supplies. Part B usually requires a monthly premium.

If you are over 65 and receiving Social Security, you probably qualify for Medicare Parts A and B. If you are under the age of 65 but have a disability, you may qualify for Parts A and B.

Part C (Medicare Advantage)

Gives you the option of receiving all your Medicare coverage in one plan.

Medicare Advantage is offered through private companies, like Health Partners Plans. It combines all the services of Parts A and B, and can include extra benefits, such as dental, vision and hearing coverage, plus wellness programs and fitness club memberships. 

All Medicare Advantage plans cover emergency and urgent care. Some Medicare Advantage plans have prescription drug coverage (Part D).

Part D (prescription drug coverage)

Part D helps you pay for prescription drugs and is provided through Medicare-approved private insurance companies like Health Partners Plans.

You must enroll in a Part D plan to get coverage — it is not automatic.

You can get your Part D coverage through either a stand-alone prescription drug plan (PDP) or through a Medicare Advantage plan that includes Part D. Both Health Partners Medicare plan options include prescription drugs.

How do I know what plan is right for me?

Finding the right plan depends on your personal situation. We can help you learn what you need to consider and help you decide what plan is best for you.

Additional Resource

Official U.S. Government Site for Medicare